Region 8

Clean, Green and Healthy Tribal Schools

Tribal Schools Webinar Series in 2012

EPA Region 8 hosted a Clean, Green and Healthy Tribal Schools webinar series for six weeks starting in January 2012. The goal of the webinar series was to provide information and tools for tribal school administrators, risk managers, educators, health and safety coordinators, school health professionals, building managers, tribal environmental protection personnel, parents of school children, and communities, to ensure that tribal schools are clean, green and healthy for themselves, school children and their community. Topics included:

  • School Chemical Cleanout
  • Polychlorinated Biphenyls in Ballasts and Caulk
  • Asbestos
  • Lead Repair Renovation and Painting Rule
  • Integrated Pesticide Management
  • Green Cleaning
  • Recycling
  • Composting and Gardening
  • Indoor Air
  • Energy and Water Conservation

Recorded webinars and PowerPoint presentations can be found at the following links:

For additional information, please see our


EPA Region 8 has developed a Clean, Green and Healthy Schools Initiative to assist administrators and staff in protecting human health and the environmental in and around schools. The Peaks to Prairies Pollution Prevention Center and EPA Region 8 hosted three Healthy and Safe Schools Webinar series in 2010, 2011 and 2012. The presentations are available for viewing at peakstoprairies.org/library/webinars/.


Links to several EPA programs with relevance to schools and Region 8 contacts

ENERGY STAR
Contact: Patty Crow (crow.patty@epa.gov)
ENERGY STAR Coordinator, 303-312-6464

Lead Based Paint
Contact: Teri Bahrych (bahrych.teri@epa.gov)
Tribal Lead Coordinator, 303-312-6788

PCBs
Contact: Dan Bench (bench.dan@epa.gov)
PCB Coordinator, 303-312-6027

PCBs in Fluorescent Light Ballasts

PCBs in Caulk

Pollution Prevention
Contact: Linda Walters (walters.linda@epa.gov)
Pollution Prevention Coordinator, 303-312-6385

Integrated Pest Management
Contact: VelRey Lozano (lozano.velrey@epa.gov)
Integrated Pest Management Coordinator, 303-312-6128

Indoor Air Quality
Contact: Ron Schiller (schiller.ron@epa.gov)
Indoor Air Coordinator, 303-312-6017

School Chemical Cleanout
Contact: Matthew Langenfeld (langenfeld.matthew@epa.gov)
School Chemical Cleanout Coordinator, 303-312-6284

Asbestos
Asbestos Coordinator, 303-312-6312

Environmental Justice Grants
Contact: April Nowak (nowak.april@epa.gov)
Environmental Justice Grant Coordinator, 303-312-6040


Before and after pictures from a school chemical cleanout:

School Chemical Cleanout before shelves were cleaned out

School Chemical Cleanout after shelves were cleaned out

Top of Page