Region 8

Water Quality Standards

Water quality standards are the foundation of the water quality-based pollution control program mandated by the Clean Water Act.

Water quality standards define the goals for a water body by designating its uses (recreation, aquatic life, drinking water, industrial, agriculture), setting criteria to protect those uses, and establishing provisions to protect waterbodies from pollutants.

The major responsibilities of the Region 8 Water Quality Team are to:

  • Assist states/tribes with development of new/revised water quality standards and implementation procedures, including providing comment letters on proposed water quality standards.
  • Review and take action on new or revised state/tribal water quality standards.
  • Consult with U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service on water quality standards approvals subject to the Endangered Species Act.
  • Participate in national policy formulation.

Region 8 Contacts:

David Moon
Water Quality Standards Program Coordinator
CO
(303) 312-6833
Email: moon.dave@epa.gov

Lareina Guenzel
UT, ND, Aquatic Life Criteria, UAAs
(303) 312-6610
Email: guenzel.lareina@epa.gov

George Parrish
SD, Indian Tribes (TAS & WQS)
(303) 312-7027
Email: parrish.george@epa.gov

Tonya Fish
MT, WY
(303) 312-6832
Email: fish.tonya@epa.gov

Sandra Spence
Pathogens
(303) 312-6947
Email: spence.sandra@epa.gov

Alfred Basile
Nutrient Criteria for ND and SD
(303) 312-6551
Email: basile.alfred@epa.gov

Mailing Address for All Contacts Above:

Region 8 (EPR-EP)
1595 Wynkoop Street
Denver, CO 80202-1129

Tina Laidlaw
Biological Criteria Program Director
Nutrient Criteria for CO, MT, UT, WY
EPA Montana Operations Office
Federal Office Building
10 West 15th Street, Suite 3200
Helena, MT 59626
(406) 457-5016
Email: laidlaw.tina@epa.gov